Synthro Lab research peptide vialsPeptides20% off peptidesSynthro Lab · Code MIDDLEWAY
GLP-1Evidence Based

Retatrutide Dosage Guide: Starting Dose, Titration & Protocol

A clinical guide to retatrutide dosage for adults covering the 2mg–12mg titration schedule, age-related considerations, and how to decide between 8mg and 12mg maintenance.

By Ryan MacielMedically reviewed by Jens Juul Holst, MD, PhDUpdated September 6, 2026
Retatrutide Dosage Guide: Starting Dose, Titration & Protocol article visual

Retatrutide Dosage for Adults: Starting Dose, Titration & Max Dose

Direct answer: Adults begin retatrutide at 2mg once weekly and titrate every 4 weeks — 2mg → 4mg → 8mg → 12mg. Most adults reach a therapeutic maintenance dose of 8mg or 12mg by week 13. Age, baseline GI sensitivity, and comorbidities all influence the pace of escalation; older adults and those with GI conditions often benefit from a slower ramp.

2mg Standard adult starting dose (weekly)
24.2% Avg. weight loss at 12mg (48 weeks, phase 2 trial)
~6 days Half-life — why once-weekly works
  • Starting dose: 2mg once weekly for the first 4 weeks — tolerability, not weight loss, is the goal here
  • Titration logic: Increase every 4 weeks: 2mg → 4mg → 8mg → 12mg — only go up if current dose is sitting well
  • Age consideration: Adults over 65 or with reduced renal function may tolerate a slower ramp; holding each phase an extra 2–4 weeks is clinically reasonable
  • 8mg is a destination, not just a stopover: Many adults stay here indefinitely; 12mg is a deliberate upgrade, not the default
  • Missed doses: If you miss by less than 4 days, inject when you remember; if more than 4 days, skip and stay on schedule
  • Triple-receptor mechanism: GLP-1 + GIP + glucagon — the glucagon activation is what separates this from tirzepatide
  • No FDA approval yet: All dosing data comes from clinical trials; approval expected 2027

Retatrutide's dosing schedule looks simple on paper — 2mg, 4mg, 8mg, 12mg. What the tables don't show is why the timing matters for adults specifically, what to do when side effects appear, and the key decision point most guides skip: whether 8mg is enough or you should push to 12mg. That is what this guide covers.


Retatrutide Dosage for Adults Chart

The table below is the adult dosing chart derived from the phase 2 trial that established retatrutide's dose range. Weekly dose, expected experience, and escalation criteria are all included.

PhaseWeeksWeekly DoseWhat to ExpectNotes
Initiation1–42mgMild appetite reduction, possible light nauseaTolerability baseline — stay here regardless of results
Escalation 15–84mgNoticeable appetite suppression, early weight lossGI effects may spike briefly then settle — expected
Escalation 29–128mgStrong satiety, consistent weight lossEvaluate: is this enough? Many adults stay here
Max Dose (optional)13+12mgMaximum studied efficacy, higher side effect rateDeliberate choice — not a required next step
MaintenanceVaries8mg or 12mgWeight stabilization, sustained suppressionSome adults step back to 4–8mg once at goal weight

Source: retatrutide phase 2 obesity trial, NCT04881760, reported in Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023. Individual protocols may vary.

For a printable version of this chart, see our Retatrutide Dosage Chart.


Where These Dose Numbers Come From

Every dose on this page traces to a single study: NCT04881760, the phase 2 obesity trial published as Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023. It randomized 338 adults aged 18–75 with a BMI between 30 and 50, or 27 to under 30 with a weight-related condition, and ran for 48 weeks. Participants with type 1 or type 2 diabetes were excluded. Seven groups:

Trial armStarting doseFinal weekly dose
Placebo
1mg1mg1mg (no escalation)
4mg, low start2mg4mg
4mg, high start4mg4mg
8mg, low start2mg8mg
8mg, high start4mg8mg
12mg2mg12mg

Two things follow from that list, and between them they explain most of what this page recommends.

2mg → 4mg → 8mg → 12mg is not a convention someone invented. It is the literal escalation path of the 12mg arm — the only arm that ever reached 12mg. Nothing above 12mg once weekly has been given to a human in a published retatrutide trial.

The trial treated the starting dose as a variable in its own right. Arms beginning at 2mg and arms beginning at 4mg were run in parallel at both the 4mg and the 8mg target. Gastrointestinal side effects came out dose-related and, in the investigators' words, "partially mitigated with a lower starting dose (2 mg vs. 4 mg)". The 4mg and 8mg results were then reported pooled across both starting doses. That finding is the entire evidence base for starting low, and it is why 2mg rather than 4mg is the default.

The once-weekly interval comes from a separate phase 1 study, where retatrutide's half-life measured approximately 6 days and its pharmacokinetics were dose-proportional across the range tested.

One naming note worth having straight: TRIUMPH is the name of Lilly's phase 3 program — TRIUMPH-1 through TRIUMPH-9, covering obesity, type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and knee osteoarthritis. Those trials register their arms only as "Dose 1" and "Dose 2"; the milligram levels behind those labels have never been disclosed, and as of August 2026 no phase 3 retatrutide results had been posted to ClinicalTrials.gov. Any chart claiming to reproduce a phase 3 titration schedule is guessing. The phase 2 arms above are the real numbers.


Why Adult Dosing Differs From Trial Averages

The phase 2 cohort was adults aged 18–75 with a BMI of 30 to 50, or 27 to under 30 with a weight-related comorbidity, and it excluded anyone with diabetes. The standard 4-week escalation schedule was validated in that population. In practice, however, adult patients vary considerably in how quickly they tolerate dose increases.

The Half-Life That Makes Once-Weekly Dosing Work

Retatrutide's half-life is approximately 6 days. Steady state — the point where blood levels stop fluctuating meaningfully between doses — takes about 4–5 weeks at any given dose level. Two practical consequences follow:

  1. Tolerability cannot be fully assessed until week 3–4 at each dose. Side effects in week 1 are not reliably predictive of week 3 at the same dose.
  2. The 4-week escalation window is calibrated, not arbitrary. It allows pharmacokinetics to stabilize before adding more compound.

Adults who rush titration tend to feel worse and are more likely to discontinue. Adults who follow the 4-week schedule report smoother experiences in clinical and community settings alike.

Age-Related Considerations for Adult Titration

Older adults (roughly 60+) and adults with reduced renal or hepatic function are not excluded from retatrutide protocols, but several practical adjustments apply:

  • Slower escalation pace: Holding each dose level for 6–8 weeks instead of 4 is a reasonable conservative approach. There is no clinical penalty for a slower ramp.
  • Lower maintenance target: Some older adults find 8mg is the appropriate ceiling given tolerability — the efficacy difference between 8mg and 12mg (22.8% vs 24.2% weight loss at 48 weeks) is small enough that it is easily outweighed by individual side effect burden.
  • Hydration and GI sensitivity: Older adults are at higher risk of dehydration from GI side effects. Proactive hydration management during the escalation phase is more important in this group.
  • Medication interactions: GLP-1 receptor activation slows gastric emptying, which can affect absorption timing of oral medications. Confirm timing of any critical oral drugs with a prescriber before starting.

None of this requires a fundamentally different protocol — the 2mg → 4mg → 8mg → 12mg framework remains the same. The pace and the ceiling are the variables to adjust based on individual circumstances.


Starting Dose of Retatrutide: The Adult 2mg Initiation Phase

The phase 2 trial used 2mg as the standard adult starting dose, and that is the clinical baseline. Some protocols use 1mg for adults with a documented history of strong GI sensitivity to GLP-1 medications — particularly if prior semaglutide use caused significant nausea or vomiting — but 2mg is where most adults begin.

2mg is not an arbitrary floor. It is the lower of two starting doses the trial tested head to head: participants targeting 4mg and participants targeting 8mg were each split into a 2mg-start group and a 4mg-start group. Gastrointestinal events were dose-related and were partially mitigated by the lower start, which is why every schedule since has opened at 2mg rather than jumping straight to 4mg. The initiation phase buys tolerability, and the trial paid for that finding directly.

What Adults Can Expect at 2mg

At 2mg the effects are intentionally modest. Most adults notice:

  • Mild appetite reduction starting days 2–3
  • Possible light nausea, typically 4–8 hours post-injection
  • Some early satiety — feeling full faster than baseline

Meaningful weight loss at 2mg is uncommon. Some adults lose 1–3 lbs in the first 4 weeks; others lose nothing. That is expected. The 2mg phase conditions the GI tract before therapeutic doses are introduced.

Inject on the same day each week. Some adults feel mildly off for 24 hours after injection, particularly in early weeks — plan injection timing to minimize interference with obligations.


Note on the semaglutide reference below: semaglutide is the generic drug sold under the brand names Wegovy for chronic weight management and Ozempic for type 2 diabetes. Both are FDA-approved products; the comparison here is about GI sensitivity history, not equivalent dosing or efficacy.

Titration Pace and the 4-Week Rule

Every dose level should be held for at least 4 weeks before escalating. This is not a guideline to push — it is the pharmacokinetic minimum for assessing whether you have reached true steady state.

How to Handle Dose Escalation if Side Effects Occur

GI symptoms persistent at 4mg (3+ days)? Hold at 4mg for an additional 2–4 weeks before moving to 8mg. There is no benefit to rushing.

Vomiting at any dose? Drop back to the previous dose. Remain there for at least 4 weeks before attempting another increase.

Nausea that is manageable but present? This is generally acceptable to continue through. The first week at a new dose is typically the worst; by week 2–3 at the same level, most adults report significant improvement.

Older adults or high-sensitivity adults: Default to 6-week holds at each level. The timeline to 12mg extends to approximately 5–6 months, which is entirely reasonable.


The 4mg Phase: First Real Clinical Signal

Week 5. Moving to 4mg. This is when retatrutide begins producing clinically meaningful effects in most adults.

The shift at 4mg is usually the most noticeable step. Adults who felt little at 2mg often report sudden satiety after partial meals. GIP receptor activation at meaningful levels improves insulin sensitivity and reduces sugar cravings specifically — a distinct effect not seen as prominently with semaglutide.

Side effects tend to spike briefly on moving from 2mg to 4mg. Nausea is most common, peaking 4–12 hours post-injection and usually settling within 24–48 hours. A small, low-fat meal before injecting can reduce nausea — fatty foods worsen gastric slowing under GLP-1 activity.


Maximum Dose in Adults: 8mg vs 12mg

Most dosing guides treat 12mg as the automatic next step after 8mg. That framing is not accurate to the clinical data.

The phase 2 data showed that the combined 8mg groups lost 22.8% of body weight at 48 weeks versus 24.2% for the 12mg group — a gap of 1.4 percentage points. At the 24-week mark the two doses were effectively tied: 17.3% at 8mg against 17.5% at 12mg. Whatever advantage 12mg carries shows up only in the second half of a year on the compound, and it is far smaller than most dosing guides imply. It is not a mandate to escalate.

8mg is a fully therapeutic adult dose. If weight loss is consistent, the compound is well tolerated, and satiety is adequate — staying at 8mg indefinitely is a rational, deliberate clinical choice, not a failure to escalate.

The case for escalating to 12mg in adults:

  • Plateau at 8mg for 6+ weeks with meaningful weight still to lose
  • Tolerating 8mg without significant side effects
  • Goal is to maximize glucagon receptor activation for energy expenditure
  • Older adults specifically should weigh tolerability burden more heavily here

The case for maintaining 8mg:

  • Side effects are manageable but present at 8mg (12mg will likely increase them)
  • Satisfied with the current rate of weight loss
  • At or near target weight
  • Age or comorbidity factors favor a lower maintenance burden

Neither position is a clinical failure. 12mg is one option, not the destination.

Phase 2 Efficacy by Dose Level

DoseWeight Loss at 24 WeeksWeight Loss at 48 WeeksParticipants Losing ≥15% at 48 Weeks
Placebo1.6%2.1%2%
1mg (no escalation)7.2%8.7%Not reported separately
4mg (both starting doses pooled)12.9%17.1%60%
8mg (both starting doses pooled)17.3%22.8%75%
12mg17.5%24.2%83%

Least-squares mean percentage change in body weight. Source: Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023, phase 2 trial NCT04881760.

Read down the 48-week column and the shape of the curve is the useful part. The jump from 1mg to 4mg is worth roughly 8 percentage points. From 4mg to 8mg, nearly 6 more. From 8mg to 12mg, 1.4. The dose-response is already flattening by the time you reach the top of the schedule, which is the arithmetic behind treating 8mg as a destination rather than a stopover.


A Note on Tirzepatide Brand Names

Tirzepatide, the dual-receptor drug retatrutide is most often compared to, is made by the same manufacturer (Eli Lilly) and is sold under two FDA-approved brand names: Zepbound for chronic weight management and Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes. If you already use one of these, note that their titration schedules and maximum doses are set by their own approved labels and are not interchangeable with the trial-based retatrutide schedule above.

How Retatrutide Dosing Differs From Semaglutide

The key reason the titration schedules differ is mechanism. Semaglutide (Wegovy) acts on a single receptor (GLP-1), while retatrutide (LY3437943) is a triple-receptor agonist hitting GLP-1, GIP, and glucagon. Activating three receptor pathways is why retatrutide uses its own stepwise 2mg to 12mg schedule rather than a semaglutide-style ramp; because no head-to-head trial has compared the two directly, this page does not claim one is more effective than the other.

Vial Size Calculations: What to Actually Draw Up

Retatrutide vials are typically sold as 5mg, 10mg, or 15mg. Draw volume depends entirely on reconstitution.

How to Calculate Your Draw Volume

Formula: Dose (mg) ÷ Concentration (mg/mL) = Volume to draw (mL)

Example: A 10mg vial reconstituted with 2mL bacteriostatic water gives a concentration of 5mg/mL.

Vial SizeBAC Water AddedConcentration2mg Draw4mg Draw8mg Draw12mg Draw
5mg vial1mL5mg/mL0.4mL (40 units)0.8mL (80 units)
10mg vial2mL5mg/mL0.4mL (40 units)0.8mL (80 units)1.6mL (160 units)
10mg vial1mL10mg/mL0.2mL (20 units)0.4mL (40 units)0.8mL (80 units)— (vial holds only 10mg)
15mg vial1.5mL10mg/mL0.2mL (20 units)0.4mL (40 units)0.8mL (80 units)1.2mL (120 units)
15mg vial3mL5mg/mL0.4mL (40 units)0.8mL (80 units)1.6mL (160 units)2.4mL (240 units)

Units listed assume a U-100 insulin syringe, on which 100 units = 1mL. A 10mg/mL concentration means 120 units = 1.2mL = 12mg.

Two practical notes on that table. A dash means the vial cannot supply that dose at all — a 5mg vial has no 8mg dose in it no matter how you reconstitute, and a 10mg vial reconstituted to 10mg/mL tops out at 10mg. And any draw over 100 units exceeds the barrel of a 1mL U-100 syringe: 160 units is two draws, 240 units is three. If your target dose keeps landing above 100 units, reconstitute with less bacteriostatic water next vial and raise the concentration instead.

For a step-by-step on reconstitution and injection technique, see: How to Inject Retatrutide.


10mg, 20mg, and Numbers That Are Not Doses

A recurring question from people using retatrutide injectables: I started at 10 — when can I go to 20? Almost every time, those numbers turn out not to be milligrams. They are one of two other things, and the difference matters enough to check before changing anything.

Units on the syringe. A U-100 insulin syringe is marked 0 to 100 units, where 100 units equals 1mL. Units measure volume, not dose. What 10 units actually delivers depends entirely on how the vial was reconstituted:

Vial + diluentConcentration10 units (0.1mL)20 units (0.2mL)
10mg vial + 2mL bacteriostatic water5mg/mL0.5mg1mg
10mg vial + 1mL bacteriostatic water10mg/mL1mg2mg
15mg vial + 0.75mL bacteriostatic water20mg/mL2mg4mg

All rows assume a U-100 insulin syringe.

Two people both "at 10 units" can be four times apart in actual dose. Before you compare your dose to anyone else's, convert it: units ÷ 100 × concentration (mg/mL) = mg. At 5mg/mL, 40 units is 0.4mL, which is 2mg. Going from 10 units to 20 units doubles whatever you were taking, and the 4-week hold applies to that step exactly as it would to any other escalation.

Vial label size. Retatrutide is sold by the total milligrams in the vial — 5mg, 10mg and 15mg are the common sizes in the calculation table above. That number describes the whole vial, not a weekly dose. A 15mg vial is a container holding three 4mg doses with 3mg left over, or one 8mg dose plus most of a second. It is not a "15mg protocol."

If You Really Do Mean 10mg or 20mg Weekly

10mg weekly sits between the 8mg and 12mg arms of the phase 2 trial. It was never run as its own arm, so no efficacy or safety number is attached to it. That does not make it dangerous — it makes it unstudied. If you are already tolerating 8mg, 12mg is the step with published data behind it.

20mg weekly has never been given to a human in a published retatrutide trial. 12mg is the ceiling of the evidence, and the dose-response curve is visibly flattening before it gets there: 12mg beat 8mg by 1.4 percentage points at 48 weeks while carrying a higher gastrointestinal burden. Doubling past the top of the studied range does not extrapolate the results, because the results themselves stop at 12mg.

If you do want to run 10mg once weekly, the cleanest setup is a 15mg vial reconstituted with 1.5mL of bacteriostatic water, giving 10mg/mL. A 10mg dose is then 1.0mL — 100 units, the entire barrel of a 1mL U-100 syringe. The same vial reconstituted with 3mL gives 5mg/mL, where 10mg becomes 2.0mL and needs two full draws. Higher concentration, smaller volume, fewer draws.


Missed Dose Protocol

If You're Less Than 4 Days Late

Inject as soon as you remember. Then return to your regular weekly schedule from that new injection date. If your original day was Monday and you remember Thursday, inject Thursday. Next dose: the following Thursday.

If You're 4–7 Days Late (Close to Next Dose)

Skip the missed dose entirely. Take your next scheduled dose on your regular day. Do not double up — doubling a retatrutide dose would deliver 2–3 weeks of compound in a single injection given the half-life dynamics.

If You've Missed More Than 1 Week

Your blood levels have dropped meaningfully (the ~6-day half-life means 50% reduction every 6 days). Resuming at your current dose is generally fine if you missed only 1–2 weeks. If you have been off for 3+ weeks, consider dropping back one dose level for a week to re-establish tolerability — especially relevant at 12mg. Older adults who have been off for extended periods should apply the same conservative re-ramp logic used for initial titration.


Managing Side Effects Without Abandoning the Protocol

The most common retatrutide side effects during adult titration are GI-related: nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, constipation. They follow a predictable pattern — worst in the first 1–2 weeks at a new dose, then fading.

See our full guide on Retatrutide Side Effects for detailed management strategies.

Quick Reference: Side Effect Response

SymptomSeverityAction
NauseaMild–Moderate (no vomiting)Continue current dose; try injecting at night; low-fat meals
VomitingAny (more than once)Drop back to previous dose; don't escalate until resolved
ConstipationMild–ModerateIncrease water and fiber; magnesium if persistent
DiarrheaAnyAvoid high-fat meals; stay hydrated; usually self-resolves in 5–7 days
FatigueMildNormal in first 2–3 weeks at new dose; monitor for improvement
Heartburn/GERDAnyElevate head of bed; avoid late-night eating; consider dose timing
Injection site reactionMild (redness, swelling)Rotate sites; normal. Severe reaction = stop and contact prescriber

Adult Maintenance Phase: Recognizing When You're There

Maintenance starts when weight loss has slowed to 0–1 lb/week at your target dose and you have reached — or are close to — a satisfying weight. Continuing to escalate at that point does not make clinical sense.

Some adults step the dose down at maintenance — from 12mg to 8mg, or 8mg to 4mg — as appetite naturally stabilizes. This is a reasonable and documented pattern.

Signs of an appropriate adult maintenance dose:

  • Appetite suppression is consistent but not uncomfortable
  • Weight is stable week-to-week
  • Side effects, if any, are predictable and manageable
  • Eating is not a source of constant preoccupation

The phase 2 trial ran 48 weeks and showed that weight loss effects persist with continued dosing throughout that period. Weight regain following discontinuation is a real consideration with GLP-1 class medications, and retatrutide likely follows the same pattern seen with semaglutide and tirzepatide.


Adult Dosing Protocol Summary

WeeksDoseGoalEscalate If
1–42mg/weekEstablish tolerabilityNo significant side effects at week 4
5–84mg/weekBegin therapeutic effectNo persistent GI issues by week 8
9–128mg/weekFull therapeutic rangePlateau + good tolerability + still want more loss
13+12mg/weekMaximum efficacyDeliberate choice, not automatic
Ongoing8mg or 12mgMaintain weight lossSome adults step down once at goal weight

Where to Source Retatrutide

Retatrutide is not yet FDA-approved. Clinical trials are ongoing, with Phase 3 results emerging in early 2026. If you're looking for a vetted source for peptide protocols, our recommended vendor is Synthro Lab — third-party tested, reliable concentration accuracy, and actual lab COAs on request.

For more on using retatrutide effectively, see our Retatrutide Dosage Chart for a printable protocol reference.


Who Develops Retatrutide

Retatrutide (developmental code LY3437943) is developed by Eli Lilly and Company, the same manufacturer behind tirzepatide. It is currently in Lilly-sponsored Phase 3 trials, including the TRIUMPH-3 obesity and cardiovascular disease study, which is why all dosing data on this page comes from trials rather than an approved label. Having no brand name yet, it travels under its code number, under the shorthand "reta" in user communities, and under a handful of misheard spellings — see the FAQ below if one of those is what brought you here.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the starting dose of retatrutide for adults?
The standard adult starting dose is 2mg once weekly, based on the phase 2 clinical trial protocol (NCT04881760). Some practitioners use 1mg for adults with a history of strong GI sensitivity to GLP-1 medications. The first 4 weeks at 2mg are about tolerability, not weight loss — meaningful results are not expected at this phase.
How long does it take to reach 12mg on retatrutide?
Following the standard protocol (4 weeks per dose level), an adult reaches 12mg at week 13 — roughly 3 months from the first injection. Extending each phase to 6–8 weeks is appropriate for older adults or anyone with tolerability concerns; this pushes the timeline to approximately 5–6 months, which is clinically acceptable.
Is 8mg or 12mg better for weight loss in adults?
The phase 2 trial showed 22.8% weight loss in the combined 8mg groups vs 24.2% at 12mg over 48 weeks — a gap of 1.4 percentage points. At 24 weeks the two were level, at 17.3% and 17.5%. For most adults, 8mg is a fully therapeutic dose. 12mg is appropriate when there is a plateau at 8mg and the higher dose is well tolerated. Older adults or those with GI sensitivity should weigh that difference against the higher side effect burden at 12mg.
What should I do if I miss a retatrutide dose?
If you are less than 4 days late, inject when you remember and reset your weekly schedule from that date. If you are 4–7 days out, skip the missed dose and take your next scheduled injection on the original day. Never double up — retatrutide's 6-day half-life means doubling creates excessive compound accumulation.
Can adults stay on 8mg without going to 12mg?
Yes. 8mg is not a waystation — it is a maintenance destination for many adults. The clinical trial data shows meaningful weight loss at 8mg. If progress is satisfactory and tolerability is good, there is no evidence-based reason to escalate. This is especially true for older adults where the additional side effect burden at 12mg may outweigh the incremental efficacy gain.
How do I calculate my draw volume for retatrutide?
Divide your desired dose (mg) by your vial concentration (mg/mL). For a 10mg vial reconstituted with 2mL bacteriostatic water, the concentration is 5mg/mL. A 4mg dose requires 0.8mL, which is 80 units on a U-100 insulin syringe. The table in this guide covers the most common vial and reconstitution combinations.
How often should adults inject retatrutide?
Once weekly, subcutaneously. Retatrutide's ~6-day half-life was engineered for weekly dosing — it maintains stable enough blood levels between injections that more frequent dosing is not needed. Inject on the same day each week; one to two days of variability will not cause meaningful blood level fluctuation.
What is the retatrutide dosage for adults chart?
The retatrutide dosage for adults chart starts at 2mg once weekly and doubles at 4-week intervals — 2mg, then 4mg, then 8mg — before stepping up to 12mg at week 13. That is the exact escalation path of the 12mg arm in the phase 2 trial, the only published dose-ranging study of this compound. Older adults or those with GI sensitivity often extend each phase to 6–8 weeks instead, which pushes 12mg out to month five or six. The full dosing chart for adults, including draw volumes by vial concentration, is in the Retatrutide Dosage Chart sister guide.
What is the starting dose of retatrutide?
The starting dose of retatrutide is 2mg once weekly. The phase 2 trial tested that against a 4mg start head to head, at both the 4mg and 8mg targets, and found the gastrointestinal side effects were partially mitigated by beginning at 2mg — which is why 2mg became the default rather than 4mg. A 1mg fixed dose was also studied, but it produced only 8.7% weight loss at 48 weeks and functions better as a ramp step for GI-sensitive patients than as a target. Whether you searched "starting dose of retatrutide" or "what is the starting dose of retatrutide", the answer is the same: hold 2mg for a full 4 weeks before considering any escalation.
How often do you take retatrutide?
You take retatrutide once a week, by subcutaneous injection into the abdomen, thigh, or upper arm. The drug's ~6-day half-life is engineered for weekly dosing — daily or twice-weekly schedules don't improve outcomes and create unnecessary GI burden. Inject on the same day each week for consistent blood levels; a 1–2 day variance window is fine.
How much retatrutide should I take?
How much you take depends on where you are in the schedule, not on your body weight — retatrutide is dosed in fixed weekly amounts, not per kilogram. Everyone starts at 2mg once weekly and holds there for 4 weeks. From there the honest answer is the lowest dose still producing steady weight loss that you can tolerate week after week. In the phase 2 trial that was 8mg for most participants: the combined 8mg groups lost 22.8% of body weight at 48 weeks against 24.2% at 12mg. Escalating past a dose that is already working buys about 1.4 percentage points and costs a higher rate of nausea and vomiting.
What is a normal dose of retatrutide?
Retatrutide has no approved label, so "normal" means whatever the trial data supports. The normal weekly maintenance dose for an adult is 8mg or 12mg, reached after roughly three months of titration from 2mg. 4mg is a legitimate stopping point as well — it produced 17.1% weight loss at 48 weeks in the phase 2 trial. Doses below 4mg are ramp-up steps rather than destinations: the fixed 1mg arm managed 8.7% over the same 48 weeks, well under half of what 8mg delivered.
I started at 10 with retatrutide injectables — when can I go to 20?
First establish whether 10 means units on your syringe or milligrams of peptide, because the two are completely different questions. On a U-100 insulin syringe, 10 units is 0.1mL — which works out to 0.5mg at 5mg/mL, 1mg at 10mg/mL, or 2mg at 20mg/mL. Moving from 10 units to 20 units doubles whatever that is, and the standard 4-week hold applies to it like any other escalation. If you genuinely mean 10mg weekly, the next step with published data behind it is 12mg, not 20mg. The highest dose ever administered in the published phase 2 trial was 12mg once weekly, and there is no human data at 20mg.
Is retaglutide the same thing as retatrutide?
Yes — retaglutide is a misspelling of retatrutide, as are retraglutide, retratrutide and retratutide. No separate drug exists under any of those names. All of them refer to LY3437943, Eli Lilly's triple GLP-1, GIP and glucagon receptor agonist, and every dose, interval and draw volume on this page applies regardless of which spelling brought you here. The mix-up is an easy one to make: most drugs in this class end in -glutide (semaglutide, dulaglutide, liraglutide), so the ear reaches for the familiar ending. If you searched "retaglutide dosage for adults" or "retraglutide dosing for adults", the dosage for adults chart near the top of this page is the answer.
What is the maximum dose of retatrutide?
12mg once weekly. That was the highest dose in the phase 2 obesity trial and it remains the ceiling of published human evidence for this compound. It is reached at week 13 on the standard schedule, and it is optional rather than automatic — 8mg came within 1.4 percentage points of it at 48 weeks with fewer gastrointestinal side effects. Lilly's phase 3 TRIUMPH trials have not disclosed their dose levels, so nothing above 12mg can be described as a studied dose.

Medical Disclaimer: This article is for educational and informational purposes only. Retatrutide is an investigational compound not approved by the FDA. All dosing information referenced here is drawn from published Phase 2 and Phase 3 clinical trial data. This is not medical advice. Consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any medication or peptide compound. Individual results vary. The authors are not responsible for how this information is used.